Portland is an EIFP

Hey, what do we know after several extended visits to Portland, Oregon? We’re going to go out on a limb and say that if Portland could take a personality test (the well-known Myers-Briggs), we think Portland would find its type to be Extroversion, Intuition, Feeling, Perceiving.

DSC01812

We’ll celebrate our findings with delicious cones from Salt & Straw.

Extroversion or Introversion? (E or I) The description of an extrovert fits Portland: “I like getting my energy from active involvement in events and having a lot of different activities…I like moving into action and making things happen. I generally feel at home in the world. I often understand a problem better when I can talk out loud about it….”

We strolled through town and happened upon dancers from different countries performing on the square.”

We strolled through town and happened upon dancers from different countries performing on the square.”

Sensing or Intuition? (S or I) We’re guessing that it’s intuition: “Paying the most attention to impressions or the meaning and patterns of the information I get. ..I’m interested in new things and what might be possible, so that I think more about the future than the past.”

Portland’s gardens – whether public or private – show a thoughtful sense of style and some knowledge of horticulture.

Portland’s gardens – whether public or private – show a thoughtful sense of style and some knowledge of horticulture.

Thinking or Feeling? (T or F) No question to us that Portland is feeling: “I am concerned with values and what is the best for the people involved. In my relationships, I appear caring, warm, and tactful.”

The old zoo’s elephant house, next to the children’s park, is adorned with animal reliefs.

The old zoo’s elephant house, next to the children’s park, is adorned with animal reliefs.

Judging or Perceiving (J or P) Portland is very strong on the perceiving scale: “To others, I seem to prefer a flexible and spontaneous way of life, and I like to understand and adapt to the world rather than organize it. Others see me staying open to new experiences and information.

Horse rings on curb stones for tethering horses from days gone by are still preserved throughout the city. We were told that a movement was started to tether small model horses to the rings – and we did look for the little horses, but never saw one.

Horse rings on curb stones for tethering horses from days gone by are still preserved throughout the city. We were told that a movement was started to tether small model horses to the rings – and we did look for the little horses, but never saw one.

What do you think? Did we get it right? Portland’s been a great stop on our travels, and we’ll definitely be returning, and, with a new appreciation of its “personality,” we’ll know better how to relate to Portland.

It’s the sum of all the little parts that make Portland a great place to be.

It’s the sum of all the little parts that make Portland a great place to be.

 

June 2015

About simpletravelourway

Beth and Joe enjoy simple travel.
This entry was posted in US - Oregon and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Portland is an EIFP

  1. Got this interesting and well informed comment via email from Carl in Portland:
    Hi,

    I’d say that Portland was THINKING rather than feeling. This is policy wonk paradise where people pay attention to rational analysis of problems and the devising of rational solutions. From Oregon land use to Oregon health plan to transit planning to sustainability initiatives to 10-point plans for ending homelessness (not successful, but at least a try)to bicycle transportation … and lots, lots more.

    I wrote a book a few years ago that tried to dissect the “personality” of Portland: Greater Portland: Urban Life and Landscape in the Pacific Northwest.

    Extroverted in the summer, introverted in the winter when it is dizzly and “everyone” curls up with their books.

    Carl

  2. It’s wonderful that you can spend time in a place over and over, and still come away learning new things and enjoying new ventures there (not to mention the ice cream!)

  3. Jeannie Claypoole says:

    So where was Kristy’s house in thePortland photos when you mentioned sense of style?? I agree that Portland is extrovert, but I’ll politely disagree that the overly scripted shrubbery reflected good
    style choices. UGH!

    • Oh, we’ll have to see Kristy’s place in September. When it comes to gardening and landscaping we defer to you, our master gardener, but the owners of that house probably go for a different aesthetic. Thanks for commenting!

  4. I love this post! I’m glad you enjoyed Portland. I actually lived there for a little over a year and I think your personality type of the city is spot on! It’s funny because I’m an INTJ, and this assessment actually explains a lot about why I hated living in the city. A great place to visit, I would never live there again for another second! I think you described it perfectly!

Tell us what you think, please.

